a NEW taste Tuesday

fresheggs

Happy Tuesday!

So, a few days ago, my son brought me these eggs that his chickens recently graciously produced.  Aren’t they pretty?  Although the very day before he brought me these, I had made a Costco run and bought the big 5-dozen package.  Therefore, I need to make something that takes a LOT of eggs – right away.

Google to the rescue..:

toomanyeggs(source)

This was a great article and while reading it, I learned something NEW! Am I the only one that didn’t know Pound Cake was called Pound Cake because it uses a pound of eggs (and a pound of flour, butter and sugar). I don’t know that I’ll make Pound Cake, but I think I’ll make a quiche, and I’ve always wanted to tackle Baked Alaska.

And! I learned you could freeze eggs. I never have.  Do they maintain a good consistency? I’m not so sure.  If anyone has used eggs that have been frozen, let me know how it turned out. Please and Thank you.

Have a great day! Do or learn something NEW!

 

 

5 thoughts on “a NEW taste Tuesday

  1. When my grandma kept hens, we ALWAYS had too many eggs! I learned how to make chocolate pudding from scratch, which was great for using yolks. And I learned to make angel food cake, which is good for using whites. But my favourite lesson was lemon meringue pie: It used the same number of yolks for the filling as whites for the topping.
    Enjoy your eggy experiences!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

